As a Mac users, you can show your entire desktop to to everyone in a Lync meeting using the Lync 2011 desktop client. Remember that a Lync meeting can be an impromptu conversation with one or more Lync users, or a scheduled meeting with Lync and non-Lync users. Also, presenters using Lync 2013 for PC or the Lync Web App will have more options for sharing.
To share your screen, you need to be a presenter. If the sharing option is grayed out, ask one of the presenters to give you presenter access.
Share your desktop
- At the top of the meeting window, click on the Monitor icon.
- From the drop-down menu, choose Desktop. IMPORTANT: When you share your desktop, everyone in the meeting can see your programs, documents, and notifications. Close confidential information or documents that you don’t want people to see.
- When you begin sharing, you will notice a green border around your monitor. In addition, you will see the Stage.
- To hide the Stage and share more of your screen, select Hide Stage.
- If you want a meeting attendee to share their screen, give them presenter access, so they can use the controls. If they don’t use Lync, they can still use Lync Web App to present. See Share your desktop and programs from Lync Web App for more information.
Stop sharing your desktop
- To stop sharing your desktop, click on the Monitor icon at the top of the window and select Show Stage.
- At the top of the stage, select the Desktop – Your Name button. Hover over Desktop – Your Name and select Stop Sharing.
- The green border around your screen will disappear. You will still see the Stage, but the grey button at the top will appear as Desktop Not Shared.
Share a PowerPoint
Using Lync 2011 for Mac, you can share a PowerPoint presentation as an attachment. To actually present the PowerPoint slides in the meeting space, you will need to use the Windows version of Lync or have someone using the Windows version upload the file. Once the presentation is uploaded by a Window’s user, the PowerPoint icon at the top of the Stage will no longer appear grayed out. The name of the presentation will appear near the top of the window. The presentation has not been shared.
To share a PowerPoint presentation uploaded by a participant:
- Near the top of the stage, click the presentation name.
- From the drop-down menu that appears, select Share Now.
To save a PowerPoint presentation to your hard drive:
- Click the presentation name.
- From the drop-down menu that appears, select Save As.
- In the Save As dialog box, select a location.
- Click Save.
Send and receive files
You can share files as long as they are not currently open.
- Click on the Paperclip Icon.
- An area with the heading Attachments will appear. Select the plus sign.
- Browse your computer and select the file. Then, click Open.
Your file will now appear in the Attachments area.